Dogma is a generally held set of formulated beliefs.  In Roman Catholicism it is a body of essential Roman Catholic teachings that cannot be denied but must be believed in order to be a true Roman Catholic. 

"The definition of the dogma, in conformity with the universal faith of the People of God, definitively excludes every doubt and calls for the express assent of all Christians."1

Pure Dogmas are derived from the Bible such as the Trinity, the incarnation, the atonement, etc. Symbolic Dogmas consist of such things as the Apostle's Creed. A small list of the many Roman Catholic dogmas are as follows:

  1. There is only one God.
  2. God is a Trinity.
  3. The Incarnation of Christ.
  4. God is holy, infinite, pure, etc.
  5. The Pope is the Vicar of Christ and his representative on earth.
  6. The Roman Catholic Church is Christ's church on earth.
  7. Mary was conceived without sin.
  8. Mary remained a virgin her entire life.
  9. The Bodily Assumption of Mary.
  10. Baptism results in the grace of justification.
  11. The Eucharist is the actual body and blood of Christ known as transubstantiation.
  12. Penance is a sacrament that must be observed.
  13. You must perform good works in order to be saved.
  • 1. General Audience, # 3, Pope John Paul II,




CARM ison