New Testament

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

The term “New Testament” literally means “New Covenant,” and in old English literature, it often refers to the New Covenant established in the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ and sealed in the pouring out of the Holy Spirit. However, in modern usage, the “New Testament” refers to the New Covenant Scriptures, or the portion of the Bible revealed after the coming of Christ. These 27 books include the four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, thirteen Epistles (or Letters) of the Apostle Paul, eight “catholic” or “universal” Epistles (the Epistle to the Hebrews, the Epistle of James, the two Epistles of Peter, the three Epistles of John, the Epistle of Jude), and the book of Revelation.