The Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are core beliefs that shape Muslim thought, deed, and society.  A Muslim who fulfills the Five Pillars of Islam, remains in the faith of Islam, and sincerely repents of his sins will make it to Jannah (paradise).  If he performs the Five Pillars but does not remain in the faith, he will not be saved.

  1. Shahada 
    1. The Shahada is the Islamic proclamation that "There is no true God except Allah, and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah."
    2. This is the confession that Allah is the one and only true God, that Allah alone is worthy of worship, and that Allah alone is the sovereign lord who does what he wills with whoever he wills. It means that all his rules and laws found in the Koran are to be followed. It means that the Christian doctrine of God as a Trinity is false--as are all other belief systems including pantheism.
    3. Muhammad is the true and greatest prophet of Allah, and recognition of Muhammad as the Prophet of God is required. It was through Muhammad that Allah conveyed the last and final revelation.
  2. Prayer (Salat)
    1. Prayer involves confession of sins, which begins with the purification of the body and ends with the purification of the soul. Prayer is performed five times a day. The first prayer is at dawn and the last at sunset.
    2. The names of the prayers are Fajr, Dhuhr, Asr, Maghrib, Isha. The Maghrib prayer is the sunset prayer. Isha is the prayer that is said after sunset. There is also a prayer that is said right after Fajr known as Shurooq.
  3. Fasting (Saum)
    1. The month of Ramadan is the month of fasting in Islam. It is an act of worship where the faithful follower denies his own needs and seeks Allah. Usually, this fasting entails no drinking, eating, or sexual relations during the daylight hours for the entire month of Ramadan.
  4. Alms-giving or charity (Zakat)
    1. This is about charity given to the poor. It benefits the poor and helps the giver by moving him towards more holiness and submission to Allah. Alms-giving is considered a form of worship to God.
  5. Pilgrimage (Hajj)
    1. This is the pilgrimage to Mecca. All Muslims, if they are able, are to make a pilgrimage to Mecca. It involves financial sacrifice and is an act of worship. Muslims must make the pilgrimage the first half of the last month of the lunar year.



About The Author

Matt Slick is the President and Founder of the Christian Apologetics and Research Ministry.