broken chainChristian heresies are many. Through studying such errors as Arianism, Gnosticism, Modalism, and Pelagianism, Christians can better understand their own faith. A heresy is a deviation from the truth.

"For there must also be factions among you, in order that those who are approved may have become evident among you,"
(1 Cor. 11:19).



  • Adoptionism - God granted Jesus powers and then adopted Him as a Son.
  • Albigenses - Reincarnation and two gods: one good and other evil.
  • Apollinarianism - Jesus' divine will overshadowed and replaced the human.
  • Arianism - Jesus was a lesser, created being.
  • Docetism - Jesus was divine but only seemed to be human.
  • Donatism - Validity of sacraments depends on character of the minister.
  • Gnosticism - Dualism of good and bad and special knowledge for salvation.
  • Kenosis - Jesus gave up some divine attributes while on earth.
  • Marcionism - An evil God of the O.T., good God of the N.T. 11, books in the Canon
  • Modalism - God is one person in three modes.
  • Monarchianism - God is one person.
  • Monophysitism - Jesus had only one nature: divine.
  • Nestorianism - Jesus was two persons.
  • Patripassionism - The Father suffered on the cross.
  • Pelagianism - Man is unaffected by the fall and can keep all of God's laws.
  • Semi-Pelagianism - Man and God cooperate to achieve man's salvation.
  • Socinianism - Denial of the Trinity. Jesus is a deified man.
  • Subordinationism - The Son is lesser than the Father in essence and or attributes.
  • Tritheism - The Trinity is really three separate gods.

This section is also available in: Español